The Purcell Singers Committee

The Committee that governs the The Purcell Singers, which is a registered charity, is composed of the Musical Director, Associate Conductor, Events and Administration Manager and six volunteer trustees.

Our charitable objectives are:

'to advance, improve, develop and maintain public education in and appreciation of the art and science of choral music in all its aspects, by the presentation of public concerts and recitals and, if possible, by the making of recordings; and other solely charitable objects as defined by The Charities Act 2006, or any subsequent Act as determined from time to time by the Trustees of The Purcell Singers and delivered for the public benefit.'

The Purcell Singers is registered with the Charity Commission under number 1168508.

Please view our data protection and privacy policy here.

We are currently recruiting for a new Chair of Trustees. Please see the role description here: Chair of Trustees role description. Contact for more information or to apply.


Committee Roles are currently filled as follows:


Eleanor Dale, Events and Administration Manager

Eleanor is a librarian at the University of London, and has been involved in the administrative support of community choirs since 2014.  She joined us in 2017 and is a firm believer in the importance of music and song, and she looks forward to supporting the choir over the coming months and years.

Laura Oxley, chair of trustees

Laura Oxley, Chair of Trustees

Laura is a Careers Consultant at The Careers Group, University of London. She has been singing with The Purcell Singers since 2005 and was Secretary of the Committee from 2007 to 2017. She became Chair of Trustees in April 2017. Laura has a PhD in Education from the Institute of Education, University College London (UCL) and has worked as a civil servant, a secondary school teacher, a Students' Union officer and an academic.

Ben Norman, Treasurer and Trustee


Eleanor Greenhalgh, Secretary and Trustee


Frances Birch, Trustee

Emily John, Trustee


David Bonar, Trustee